top of page

Winners Announced

Updated: Sep 17, 2023

Winners of the 2023 AAALS Indigenous Writers Prize: CREATIVE PROSE:

Victoria G. Williams, Warraimaay: “The Perfume Pagoda: Travels with My Mother”

POETRY: Nicola Andrews, Ngāti Paoa: Hinting at Decolonization”

Winner of the 2023 AAALS Fiction and Nonfiction Prize: Jane N. Downing: “Slippery Jacks”

Honorable Mention Dani S. Netherclift: “Beneath These Surfaces”

Winner of the 2023 AAALS Poetry Prize: Gershon D. Maller: “Mnemonics for Thelonius Monk”

Antipodes will publish these works in an upcoming issue.

Thank you to the judges of the 2023 AAALS Creative Writing Competition:

  • AAALS Fiction & Nonfiction Prize: Rain Wright and Catherine Padmore

  • AAALS Poetry Prize: Ann-Marie Blanchard, Susan Bradley Smith, and Mackenzie Kozak

  • AAALS Indigenous Writers Prize: Jenny Fraser (Migunberri Yugambeh) and Vaughan Rapatahana (Te Ātiaw

Watch this space for news about the 2024 competition.

477 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update to Antipodes submissions policy

Although behind schedule, Antipodes encourages the submission of scholarly essays on a wide range of literary and cultural works with a connection to Australia and/or Aotearoa New Zealand. The journal


bottom of page